Spanish Recipe: Fish with Aubergine (and I didn’t think I liked aubergine!)

beef-tomato-aubergineThis delicious Spanish recipe made me realise that I do, in fact. like aubergines! I didn’t think I did. So maybe you will like it as well.

Fish with Aubergine – Serves 4:

Sprinkle 4 salmon fillets with lemon juice, salt and pepper, and set aside. In the meantime, fry 1 chopped bunch of spring onions and 2 skinned and chopped tomatoes in a small amount of olive oil for 3 mins. (Tip for peeling tomatoes – put them into just-boiled water for 2 mins, then cold water for 2 mins, then they peel easily.) Add 1 de-seeded and finely chopped red pepper, 1 peeled and chopped aubergine and 1 cup of fish stock (or veg stock). Stir and simmer for 20 mins. In another pan, fry 1 onion, cut into rings, until soft. Lay the salmon on top of the onion, add a quarter cup of stock, cover the pan and simmer until the fish is cooked. In the other pan, when the aubergine is cooked, mash the vegetable mixture with a fork. Serve the onions and salmon with the aubergine mixture around and on top of it.

Remarkably tasty (considering the aubergine thing was a gamble for me) and uber-healthy. Buen provecho!

One thought on “Spanish Recipe: Fish with Aubergine (and I didn’t think I liked aubergine!)

Leave a Reply

